Looking for news
30
October 2020
30
October 2020

The village of  Val d’Isère is surrounded by peaks of  2 500, 2 800 and  3 747 m.  It’s the perfect spot for climbing, skiing,  cycling and running. There’s also a well-developed glacier to explore.

The benefits to train in altitude

The density of air decreases at altitude and less  oxygen makes exercise much more of a challenge. This lack of oxygen, called hypoxia, induces the secretion of a hormone known as EPO (Erythropoietin), which will then favour the production of  red blood cells to compensate for the lack of oxygen. This is what an athlete is looking for: to have produced sufficient red cells at altitude in order to provide a higher level of oxygen during work-outs back at sea -level.

These changes in the body occur during a stay of several days at altitudes above 1800m. Val d’Isère is the perfect place to come and prepare for a race or undergo a full training programme.

After work-out chill out

Here’s what we suggest :

  • The  Centre Aquasportif is a fully equipped sports complex with a 25m pool, steam room,  hot tubs, three saunas and a ice shower. As you probably know, alternating hot and cold is an excellent way of speeding up recovery from exercise.
  • The Arctic Café and its health food :   The café has become the rendez-vous
  • for anyone interested in eating wholesome foods. There’s a refreshingly healthy menu featuring freshly-squeezed juices, energy balls, superfood bowls, scented coffees, and items such as  avocado toast for an enjoyable brunch or a super-healthy lunch.
  • For the really brave, we recommend a dip in the waters of the Isère river : simple, natural et cleansing !

So now is the time to get on with it. Trail-running, mountain biking, road cycling, hiking,  skiing on the glacier (when it’s open) – Val d’Isère is an ideal place for training, having fun, or improving athletic skills and recovery times.

They train in  Val d’Isère

  • Romain Bardet : professional cyclist  with team AG2R La Mondiale. He had a podium finish in the Tour de France 2017.

Romain Bardet

  • Victor Muffat Jeandet : French W0rld Cup ski racer from the Club des sports de Val d’Isère and an Olympic medal winner in South Korea. He works out in the bikepark.

muffatjeandet_valdisere

  •  Mimmi Kotka : Swedish trail runner. She won worldwide admiration for her third place this year in the 116km Maxi Race 2018 around Lake Annécy. She was the third woman to finish  the  High Trail Vanoise in 2017.

Mimmi Kotka_1

  • Maxime Peythieu : professional freestyle mountain biker. He won the Outdoor Mix Festival in 2015.

Maxime peythieu

  • Jordi Gamito Baus: ulta Catalan trail runner . He got a great Top Ten placing in the Ultra-Trail de Mont Blanc  in 2017.

Jordi Gamito

Blog
Les bienfaits de s’entraîner en altitude à Val d’Isère

Le village de Val d’Isère s’entoure de pics à 2 500, 2 800 ou 3 747 m d’altitude, idéal pour: grimper, skier, pédaler, courir ou tout simplement s’échapper sur un glacier.

Mais alors pourquoi s’entraîner en altitude ? Quels sont les bienfaits ?

En altitude, la densité de l’air diminue et l’oxygène se fait rare, ce qui limite notre capacité à produire un effort.

Ce manque d’oxygène, appelé hypoxie, va induire la sécrétion d’une hormone connue sous le nom d’EPO (érythropoïétine), qui favorisera alors la production de globules rouges afin de compenser le manque d’oxygène. C’est ce que recherche le sportif : avoir produit assez de globules rouges en altitude pour pouvoir fournir plus d’oxygène lors de ses entraînements de retour en plaine.

A savoir que ces modifications sur le corps sont observées lors d’un séjour de plusieurs jours à partir de 1800m d’altitude. Val d’Isère est donc l’endroit parfait pour venir préparer une compétition ou compléter qualitativement un programme d’entrainement !

Après l’effort, le réconfort

Nos bons plans récupération :

  • Le Centre Aquasportif ultra équipé : un bassin de natation de 25 mètres, un hammam, des bains bouillonnats, trois saunas et une douche glacée. Comme vous le savez peut-être, l’alternance chaud/froid est idéal pour accélérer la récupération.
  • L’Arctic Café et sa nourriture saine, “healthy food” pour les accros : l’Arctic Café est devenu LE rendez-vous des « mangeurs de graines ». Une carte aussi rafraîchissante qu’efficace avec ses jus frais, ses bowls remplis de supers-aliments (superfood pour les intimes), cafés parfumés, energy balls, et par exemple ses avocados toasts pour un brunch ou un déjeuner super sain.
  • Pour les plus courageux, on conseille un passage dans les sources de l’Isère : simple, naturel et efficace !

Maintenant que vous avez toutes les clés en main, il est temps de s’y mettre.  Trail, VTT, Cyclo, randonnée, entrainement de ski sur le glacier (lorsqu’il est ouvert), Val d’Isère est un lieu adéquat pour l’entraînement, le plaisir ou améliorer ses performances et sa récupération.

Ils s’entraînent à Val d’Isère

  • Romain Bardet : Coureur cycliste professionnel de l’AG2R La Mondiale, il a terminé sur le podium du Tour de France l’année dernière.

Romain Bardet

  • Victor Muffat Jeandet : Skieur alpin français, athlète du Club des sports de Val d’Isère et médaillé olympique aux Jeux de Pyongyang. Il profite du bikepark à fond pour travailler son engagement.

 

muffatjeandet_valdisere

  • Mimmi Kotka : Traileuse suédoise, elle impressionne tout le monde en terminant 3ème au scratch de l’ultra MaxiRace 2018 ! Elle avait fait 3ème femme au High Trail Vanoise en 2017.

Mimmi Kotka_1

  • Maxime Peythieu : Pilote freestyle VTT professionnel, il remporte l’Outdoor Mix Festival en 2015!

Maxime peythieu

  • Jordi Gamito Baus : Ultra traileur catalan, il fait un joli top 10 à l’UTMB en 2017 !

 

Jordi Gamito